Rohit Sharma excluded from the ODI series in SA, KL Rahul appointed captain of 18-member squad

Captain Rohit Sharma was excluded from India’s upcoming ODI series in South Africa on Friday due to a hamstring injury, forcing voters to nominate KL Rahul as skipper on an 18-man team for the white ball on the trip.

Allrounder Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja were also not selected as they were not in shape while the senior pacer Mohammed Shami, who is on the team for the ongoing test series, was rested. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah was appointed vice-captain of the team.

“Rohit is not in shape, he is in rehab. We never wanted to take the chance with him,” said BCCI committee chairman Chetan Sharma.

“We are looking to groom KL Rahul. He has proven his leadership qualities. KL is the best that can handle the side.”

The three ODIs will be played in Paarl and Cape Town on 19, 21 and 23 January respectively.

Team: KL Rahul (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rekuraj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh pants (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj.


Source link

Leave a Comment