“Everyone in BCCI asked (Virat) Kohli to stay on as T20I captain”: India’s chief electorate Chetan Sharma | Cricket news

The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) selection committee announced the team for the ODI series against South Africa on Friday. KL Rahul was named captain of the series as white-ball captain Rohit Sharma has been ruled out due to injury. After announcing the team, President-elect Chetan Sharma opened up about the controversy surrounding the ODI captain, who involved test skipper Virat Kohli. Sharma said Kohli was asked not to leave the T20I captaincy by the selection committee. “When the meeting started, it was a surprise to everyone. If World T20 is around the corner and you hear something like this, what will your reaction be? Everyone present at the meeting had told him to think carefully about his decision ( to leave the T20 leadership) and we can talk about it after the World Cup, “said Chetan.

In fact, everyone told him he should continue for “because of Indian cricket”, but apparently he had decided.

“All the voters at the time felt that this could affect us in the World Cup. It was told to Virat for the sake of Indian cricket. Please continue as captain and it was told by everyone (BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and Secretary Jay Shah) present in the meeting.

“The conveners were there, the board officials were there. Sabhi ne bola hai (everyone told him), Who will not tell you that? If this news comes to you, you are in a shock,” Chetan said.

“But when we had a World T20 to play, we never wanted it (decision) to affect the team. He (Kohli) had his plans and we respect him. He is a pillar of the team and if he has taken a decision, we respect that. But yes, everyone asked him to think about it, “he added.

Asked about speculation about a rift between Kohli and Rohit, the chief voter said: “Do not speculate. I was part of the media for 20 years. I laugh at speculation. They work together as a family, a team, a unit.”


India’s ODI team: KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC ))), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur and Mohd. Siraj.

(With PTI inputs)

Topics mentioned in this article


Source link

Leave a Comment