WhatsApp makes it harder for strangers to pursue you


Meta‘s WhatsApp has been focusing on users’ privacy lately. The company rolled out new confidentiality tools earlier this month to further limit the digital footprint we leave behind. The latest addition to privacy features limits who can view your Last Seen on the app. Currently, the app allows users to share their Last seen status with All, My contacts, or None. The company is too testing a new My contacts except … option with beta users of the app on iOS and Android. In addition, it seems that WhatsApp is now hiding users’ Last Seen from unsaved numbers that they have not chatted with before.

As WABetaInfo reports, some users have noticed that they can no longer see the last set status of certain numbers. In a support email, the company states:

Hello.

Thank you for your message.

To improve the privacy and security of our users, we make it harder for people you do not know and have not chatted with, from seeing your last seen and online presence on WhatsApp.

This will not change anything between you and your friends, family and businesses that you know or have previously sent messages about.

If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. We are happy to help!

Some users rely on third-party apps to track the latest set statuses of other people on WhatsApp. This privacy-focused change will prevent these apps from working – as users have never chatted with them or kept their numbers stored. When you save a number or start a chat with an unsaved person, your Last Seen will be revealed to them. The change further limits how other people – especially strangers – can track you in the online world. The company can also remove the deadline on deleting messages for everyone on the road.

Which instant messaging app (IM) are you most dependent on? Tell us in the comments section below.



Source link

Leave a Comment