Karnataka MLC Election Results 2021 Live Updates: Neck and neck battle between BJP and Congress

By: FE Online |

Updated: December 14, 2021 2:41:57 PM

Karnataka Legislative Council Election Results 2021 Live News, Karnataka MLC Election Results Live: The election was necessitated as the MLCs’ term of office is due to end on 5 January.

The vote on the two-year election to Karnataka’s Legislative Council’s 25 seats from 20 local government constituencies was held on 10 December.

MLC Election Results Karnataka 2021 Live News: Counting of votes for the Karnataka Legislative Council election is underway today and the results are likely to clear in the afternoon. The vote for the two-year election to the Karnataka Legislative Council’s 25 seats from 20 local government constituencies was held on December 10, and about 99 percent of the turnout was recorded during the voting. There were a total of 90 candidates whose fates have been sealed in the ballot box. These include 20 each from BJP and Congress, six from JD (S), 33 Independents and the rest from smaller parties.

The election was necessary as the term of office for the MLCs is due to expire on 5 January. Of the 25 outgoing MLCs, 14 are from Congress, seven from BJP and four from JD (S). There are 75 seats in the Karnataka Legislative Council, and the ruling BJP has 32 seats, eight less than the majority mark. There are 29 Congressional MLCs and 12 are from JD (S). The BJP has put its hopes to the polls to get a majority in the House. The BJP is currently relying on the JD (S) to get any legislation approved through the council.

Read more

Live blog

Karnataka MLC Election Results 2021 Live News: Karnataka Legislative Council Election Vote Counts Live Coverage, 2021 Karnataka MLC Election Results Live

Both the BJP and Congress are sure to win a majority of the seats of the 25 who went to the polls. The election was held in two seats each from the local government constituencies Bijapur, Belgaum, Dharwad, Dakshina Kannada and Mysuru; and one each from Bidar, Gulbarga, Uttara Kannada, Raichur, Bellary, Chitradurga, Shivamogga, Chikmagalur, Hassan, Tumakuru, Mandya, Bangalore, Bangalore Rural, Kolar and Kodagu.


Source link

Leave a Comment