Ind vs NZ 2021-22: Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami will not participate in the New Zealand test series


Meanwhile, Virat Kohli will miss the first round and will lead the team again in the second.

India will be without virat Kohli, Rohit sharma, Rishabh trousers, Jasprit bumrah and Mohammed shami when they take to the field for the first test against New Zealand in Kanpur on November 25-29. All five have presumably rested, although the BCCI statement that the team announced on Friday gave no reason for their exclusion.
Kohli, however, will return for the second test in Mumbai, which will be played from December 3-7, and will lead the team. Ajinkya rahane will be the captain of India in Kanpur, with Cheteshwar Pujara appointed his deputy.
Also off the team is the fast pitcher. Shardul Thakur, who has also been left out of the team for the T20I series that precedes the Trials.
KL Rahul is expected to open batting with Mayank Agarwal in Rohit’s absence, while Kohli’s middle order spot in the first test could be contested between Shubman Gill and the uncovered. Shreyas Iyer, who has been part of the red ball team in the past, but has yet to debut in the test. Hanuma Vihari, who was understood to be next in line for a mid-order position, has been left out of the team. Vihari’s last participation in a test match was to help save the Sydney Test in January while batting through injury.
With Pant absent, the experienced Wriddhiman Saha is in line to play its first test since India’s defeat in Adelaide in December 2020.
Andhra’s batter-goalkeeper KS BharatHowever, he is also part of the staff. Bharat has a solid first-class record behind him: 4,283 runs from 78 games averaging 37.24, with nine hundred including a high score of 308 against Goa in February 2015. It was the first triple-ton by a wicketkeeper-hitter in the Ranji Trophy. Most recently, he enjoyed a great season in the IPL with Royal Challengers Bangalore, batting primarily at No. 3 and scoring 191 runs with a strike rate of 122.43, including a 78 winning matches not eliminated against Delhi Capitals topped off with a last six ball.

Team from India for the New Zealand Test Series: Ajinkya Rahane (capt), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-capt), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (week), KS Bharat (week), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna; Virat Kohli will join the team for the second round and lead the team

GMT 1215 This piece was updated after the BCCI confirmed Vihari’s selection for the India A tour of South Africa.

Source link

Leave a Comment